52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks #28 – Ludwig Karthaeuser

Relationship: 3rd Great-grandfather
Screen Shot 2015-03-29 at 2.03.42 PM


I’m now more than 1/2 way through the year with my “The 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks” for this blog. Yay for stick-to-it-ness!

I’ve discovered some good things about doing the blog each week:

  • I’m becoming very aware of the research I’ve already done.
  • It highlights the things I still need to look for.
  • I realize I have a plethora of information about my paternal line, not so much on the maternal side.
  • Each blog is like a little mini biography for each person. It’s forcing me to explore different storytelling styles in the hopes the readers will come back to see what’s next.
Ludwig Karthaeuser 089

Ludwig Karthaeuser, source: photo with Eleanor Freeman

The bad thing is that it’s making my research to-do list much longer!

One item (or more) I will be adding to that to-do list involves finding more about my 3rd great-grandfather, Ludwig Karthaeuser. If it weren’t for correspondence with Ely Freeman from Mays Landing, New Jersey, I wouldn’t even know what I do about him and I wouldn’t have his photo.

Some of the reason for not knowing much had to do with trajectory of his granddaughter Anna Marie Karthaeuser’s life. See her blog entry (http://wp.me/p4WHi0-31) for more detail on why there wasn’t much very much contact with the Karthaeuser family after Anna’s marriage to George Repsher.

I have a few facts about Ludwig Karthaeuser. He was born between 1828 – 1829 in Trier, Germany.[1] He married Catarina Adam and had some children together, all born in Germany. I believe there may be more children but the ones I have identified so far (mostly based on German birth certificates on film at the Family History Library) are:

  1. John Adam (or Adam John), born 07 April 1857 [2]
  2. Catarina, born 11 January 1860 [3]
  3. Karl, born 26 October 1861 [4]
  4. Anton, born 27 April 1864 [5]
  5. Elisabetha, born 25 July 1866 [6]
  6. Lorenzo [7]

The birth certificates for the children show that Ludwig was a cigar maker and worked in the manufacturing industry.

Ludwig’s son John Adam immigrated to the United States with his soon-to-be wife[8] but the rest of the family stayed in Germany.

Admittedly, the information on Ludwig in my files is sparse. Further research on Ludwig and his household could provide an excellent learning experience about digging into German records.


[1] Certificate #121 from FHL Intl. Film 1,258,132 titled “Births 1854-1869 Germany, Bayern, Oggersheim.”
[2] Anna (Karthaeuser) Repsher, compiler, “Family Record of J. J. Repsher Jr. and Caroline Repsher nee Bonser”; (Handwritten family group sheets, Netcong, New Jersey, 1911-1970), p. 81.
[3] Certificate #8 from FHL Intl. Film 1,258,132.
[4] Certificate #121 from FHL Intl. Film 1,258,132.
[5] Certificate #46 from FHL Intl. Film 1,258,132.
[6] Certificate #89 from FHL Intl. Film 1,258,132.
[7] Anna (Karthaeuser) Repsher, compiler, p. 197.
[8] “New York, Passenger Lists,1820-1857,” digital image, Ancestry.com (http://www.ancestry.com : accessed 14 December 2014), entry for A. Karthaueser,  Microfilm series M237, Roll 505, List 436, line 126-127, Image 1024.

Leave a Reply

