2016 Project: Sepia Saturday Intro

Last year, I did 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks which concentrated on a different relative each week. While I tried to concentrate on my direct ancestors, a few cousins, uncles, aunts, and ex-husbands snuck into the mix. Overall, the posts each Sunday were about direct ancestors. The 2015 project helped me to flesh out my ancestors, to write consistently each week, and to identify what research still needed to be done. Never mind that my to-do list got longer!

What to do for 2016? A fellow genealogist, Sherri, with her own blog, suggested Sepia Saturday. Sherri had been looking at a picture prompt which was presented on the Sepia Saturday Blog each week to stimulate ideas about her family and history. According to the Sepia Saturday website:

Historical photographs of any age or kind (they don’t have to be sepia) become the launchpad for explorations of family history, local history and social history in fact or fiction, poetry or prose, words or further images.

I inherited my Aunt Mercedes (Strait) Scabet’s scrapbook when she passed away. Her mother,SepiaSaturday-1-302 Beatrice put all the cards and gift tags that Sadie received as a young girl in an “authorized edition” of a Shirley Temple Scrap Book. These cards are beautiful, colorful, and just as bright as the day they were printed. I had no idea what to do with the scrapbook.

Now I do! I will be using the Sepia Saturday weekly photo prompts (at least for the first quarter of 2016) to pick a theme and match it to one of the cards I find in my Aunt Sadie’s scrapbook. My resulting post could be related to the theme that I chose, could be about the person sending the card that didn’t get a dedicated post in my 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks project last year, could be a very thin connection and go off in a different direction, or it could be about something Sussex County related. I’m excited to see what comes out of this and this is going to be interesting…

Enjoy!Screen Shot 2015-12-30 at 7.33.42 AM

Leave a Reply

