Sepia Saturday #331: Three Peas in a Pod

SepiaSaturday-1-331

SepiaSaturday-2-331

 

 

 

 

It’s very cool that Mercedes Strait received a birthday card on her 3rd birthday from the hospital in which she was born, Newton Memorial Hospital. In the late 1930s and early 1940s, the hospital also hosted get togethers each year for all the babies born at their facility.

This bear seems to be bringing a cake with three candles to Mercedes. Which brings us to the theme of “three” for this post. My thoughts automatically went to me and my sisters. Together we’re Jodi, Jill, and Jenni. Our parents took us to the studio when we were younger and had our portraits done together.  Our first one with all three of us was in 1972.

peasinapod003

Jodi, Jill, and Jenni, circa 1972

We repeated the process in 1973… I don’t seem to mind that some of my teeth are missing.

peasinapod001

Jodi, Jenni, and Jill, circe 1973

And again in 1974… The advantage of being the oldest is that I never had to wear hand-me-downs. Jenni got to wear the same dress Jill had on in 1972!

peasinapod004

Jill, Jenni, and Jodi, circa 1974

And again in 1975… Jill swears to this day that mom used a weed-wacker to cut our bangs. Go ahead, go back to the earlier photos to look, Jill’s not wrong.

peasinapod002

Jodi, Jenni, and Jill, March 1975

We grew up running around on the streets and playgrounds of Newton, Sussex County, New Jersey. And got called Jodi-Jill-Jenni, all one word, very regularly.

I believe that thinking of the three of us as one unit is what attracted me so much to a pastel I have in my living room. It was done by artist Brian Keeler based in Wyalusing, Pennsylvania. His use of color and light just fascinates me. Oh, and it is three women!

ZionLadies

The concept behind these weekly Saturday posts can be found at Sepia Saturday Intro.
Theme taken from Sepia Saturday photo: Three babies

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 6.17.41 AM

7 thoughts on “Sepia Saturday #331: Three Peas in a Pod

  1. I had never heard of a hospital celebrating the birthdays of those babies born there – what a lovely idea! The photograps of you and your sisters are adorable – your fair hair is gorgeous and you all look so happy.

    Like

  2. What a wonderful idea to have the three of you photographed together professionally through the years. Did you continue with it beyond 1975?

    Like

  3. I loved reading about the three peas in a pod. Lovely memories. I rather liked those days when we bundled up the children and took them to the photographer for the yearly photo. Those are some of my most precious memories. Those photos had a sense of purpose in what they work, how the parents prepared. Glad you too have those memories.

    Like

  4. Great collection. I’d imagine the professional photographer sent out reminders each year so families could be prepared to go in for an annual shoot. (I would if I were in that business!) Great to hear of hospital gatherings for fun rather than illness. Love the painting too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

